THE SHADDOX BOYS

Jacob and Elijah Shaddox are brothers. They live with their mom, Mary, who is the writer of this blog. Jacob is 19 and is now four inches taller than his mom! He also has ADHD and gorgeous red hair. He is a freshman at a technical college studying computer maintenance. Elijah is 15! He is in 9th grade and he is not in ROTC at his high school. He also had red hair, but it is lighter and not as thick as his brother's hair. He is hearing impaired(auditory neuropathy) and wears two cochlear implants. He also has tourette syndrome, ADHD, OCD and anxiety! Mary just started her 25th year as a teacher of the deaf. She is also in her last semester of graduate school to be a diagnostician! She will graduate in December of 2015!





Saturday, June 29, 2013

Update on Jacob's Job

Jacob has been working at Albertson's for a month now. Some people might not be aware, but Albertson's is a grocery store chain. He is a courtesy clerk and his duties include bagging groceries, helping customers to their car with their groceries, cleaning bathrooms, sweeping the store, doing put backs, and getting carts in from outside. I am sure there are a few other duties, but those are the ones he has mentioned to me. He even gets to drive those electric carts in, if a customer leaves it outside. He actually enjoys doing that.

He has really enjoyed having a paycheck each Friday. The first Friday he was paid, he didn't want to make a trip up to get it. He waited until he worked the next day to pick it up. Since then, he has gone up each Friday to get his check. His hours have increased a bit and he likes seeing the increase in his paycheck. He pays me $30 a week towards his car insurance and another $10 to put in his savings account. I put it all in his savings account, then pay his insurance when it is due. He is also paying for his gas, which isn't a whole lot right now. He only drives back and forth to work. He drives to a few other places to SPEND what money he keeps, but even that is not far.

This week he will be working fourteen hours. I am hoping once he gets a bit more money in savings, that we will go to the bank and open a checking account for him. This way he can have a debit card. I can transfer him money when he needs it. He could also learn HOW to manage a debit card/checking account. I told him we will set it up, that if the money is not there then the card is refused. If he truly wants to go to Waco to attend a technical school next Fall, then he needs to know how to handle a checking account.

We are going to visit the technical school on July 22nd! I'll let y'all know how that goes!

No comments:

Post a Comment