THE SHADDOX BOYS

Jacob and Elijah Shaddox are brothers. They live with their mom, Mary, who is the writer of this blog. Jacob is 19 and is now four inches taller than his mom! He also has ADHD and gorgeous red hair. He is a freshman at a technical college studying computer maintenance. Elijah is 15! He is in 9th grade and he is not in ROTC at his high school. He also had red hair, but it is lighter and not as thick as his brother's hair. He is hearing impaired(auditory neuropathy) and wears two cochlear implants. He also has tourette syndrome, ADHD, OCD and anxiety! Mary just started her 25th year as a teacher of the deaf. She is also in her last semester of graduate school to be a diagnostician! She will graduate in December of 2015!





Saturday, May 19, 2012

Two More Weeks until Summer Break

Both the boys and I have two more weeks until summer break! We are all ready for it. Of course, we will be a little busy during that time. I have a three day workshop about 30 min from home in June and then I travel to Houston in July for the Statewide Conference for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students. My partner will keep the boys while I am gone for statewide. I think that will be an interesting experience for all three of them and probably for me! Thankfully, Jacob is old enough to help babysit Elijah. I will pay him to babysit during that time and to help his step mom with Elijah so she can work during the day.

Jacob is taking driver's ed for three weeks and we have to go and camp out at the DMV to get his permit. He then has to wait six months to get his driver's license. I will have to make him an appointment some time after he finishes driver's ed to take his driving test in six months. YES, you hear me right, make an appointment to take the test. I have hear the horror stories of parents and kids getting in line at four in the morning and still not getting to take the test. The DMV only does so many driving tests a day and if you don't make it, well then you have to come back. He turns 16 in July, but he isn't just chomping at the bit to drive yet!

We are not going on vacation at all this summer, really. We will probably go see my mom in Marshall for a few days at some point. I hope we can go to the movies and do some fun things in the area! We also have a membership at the recreation center in town so we will be visiting there often. I plan on staying on my weight watchers and losing as much weight as I can! My partner plans on teaching Jacob and I a foreign language!The boys have a few doctor appointments, but nothing too exciting.I will also be doing my mystery shopping, but have VOWED not to sign up for a billion shops and never be home. I like the extra money though and that money allows us to do some of the fun things we want to do!

No comments:

Post a Comment